Week #4

I have officially been in the MTC for a month! Happy month-aversary to meee!

Szervusztok barataim es chaladom! Hello friends and family!!

I received the package from home yesterday! Thank you for sending the card and gift from Sister Geekie and for sending the tights and watch. I don’t know who Jessie is though, but it sounds like he did something nice for me. Maybe the watch got broken in the mail or there was never a battery in it, because none of the hands are moving, and I don’t think I can buy a watch battery here, but thank you for sending me one. Maybe i can figure something out later, or i can buy a watch from the bookstore. They aren’t the greatest but they tell time, so that’s good. It was nice to receive a package from home :)

I will try to find Elder Ioannidis to give him his Visa, ill bring it to meals with me where I sometimes see him.

I am sending some pictures home so hopefully they don’t take to long to get there. None of the pictures are of the Christmas decorations but there are pictures of my companions and I, and of my district, and of the 3 “older” Hungarian nover (sisters) who are leaving the MTC next week. I tried to put names on the back of some of the pictures :)

Here at the MTC we get to go to the Provo Temple at a designated time on our Pday (every pday), so today we will go again to the temple :) It is lovely to experience a different temple and expecially going as a missionary it feels special.

I got a letter from Grandma the other day and I am almost done my response which I will mail to her. I was happy to hear from her :) Tell her I love her and that a letter is coming :)

You asked about the TRC. I think TRC stands for Training Resource Center. For languages like English and Spanish, people are paid to work in the TRC and act as investigators and the missionaries teach them lessons. For the less-spoken languages like Hungarian, volunteers come into the TRC and they don’t play a character. They just be themselves and we teach them a lesson on a topic we are assigned. They could be members, non-members, families, return missionaries, etc. It is really interesting. We got to teach a father and son the other week and the son was adorable! He was about 6 and learning Hungarian. It makes the lesson flow so differently with a child present, and I appreciated the chance to experience that. After the volunteers are taught they are asked to fill out a feedback form that has a couple questions on it. Then out teachers give us the feedback forms to look at and discuss with our companions. It is very beneficial to practice teaching in the TRC and the volunteers have so far always been so nice and patient and helpful. We teach once a week in the TRC.

I am so happy to hear that both of you mom and dad are studying your scriptures daily. I am glad you are teaching seminary mom, I think that both you and the students are learning a lot together and I am glad you are helping them memorize the scripture masteries!

Oh yes, I sent the tags to Elder Deyell my first week here and we have even corresponded a couple of letters since then. Thank you for checking that I did it though, and he seems to be doing very well in Arizona!

I am glad to hear you are trying YYoga mom. I suggest Power Yoga, it is my favourite kind!

Whenever I hear that you at home pray for me, it really strengthens me. I appreciate so much the support that comes from friends and family. I am trying to do my best, and knowing that there is a large group of loving friends and family behind me helps me all the more. Thank you all for your prayers and positive thoughts and caring and love. I love you all so much!

My companions and I have been participating in the MTC choir. We rehearse on Sunday and Tuesday for an hour each and then perform the song at the Tuesday night devotional. We have to miss some personal language study to participate in choir, but I think it is a rewarding experience. I always feel a bit of a struggle to have to miss some study time, but it really is lovely to participate in making beautiful music. Elder Ioannidis also was in the choir this week and the song we sang was an arrangement of “Be Still My Soul”. I loved it.

You asked what we do for service, we do things like cleaning toilets and mirrors and showers, or setting out new bed linens for new missionaries, and things like that. Our service day is Monday, but other districts have different days.

I wish I had more time to write, because there is so much that happens here every day and I wish I could tell you all more about it.

I still love it here so much, everyday is a day to grow and learn. Everyday is a day to love my companions and my district and teachers. Everyday is a day to prepare and teach our “investigators”. Every day is a day to use Hungarian and to make mistakes and learn from them. Every day is a day to be spiritually fed and uplifted. I am excited to spend two more months here. I know it is a long time, but there is SO much to be gained here that will last me the rest of my life.

I am here for the people of Hungary, to bring them a message of joy and peace. I am here for my future family. I am here for my current family. I am here because God wants me to be here.

With so much shining love and beaming joy,

Suranyi nover

