Week #50

Hello everyone!

Has it really only been one week?! To me it feels like about 3! The days themselves do not go by too slowly, but the overall passing of time often feels to drag on. I woke up in the middle of the night with a bad sore throat and it is still bothering me, but luckily it is my only symptom – other than that I am feeling great! I am also viewing it as an answer to my prayers, because I had been saying that if I had to get sick, it would have to wait until after last week- and it waited!

Why did I need the sick to wait??

Because this week I traveled with my companion to Budapest, for two days, to record singing for the Hungarian translation of the 2012 EFY cd (a church CD for youth – Especially For Youth – that comes out with original songs every 2 years I believe). I got to sing some back vocals for two songs, and sang lead vocals for another. I didn’t know recording could be so much fun! I had a language coach helping me pronounce things better, and she, and everyone else involved, were so patient with me. It was so much fun! The fact that it was in Hungarian was a little stressful, because I know I was not able to sing the words perfectly, but I pray it was good enough. We had a little makeshift studio in the Kispest branch house, with fancy headphones and a fancy mike, and a cool sound guy. After we finished recording my song, we listened to the whole thing through, and my companion and I, and another lady who was helping, danced as we all listened. It was so fun and stress relieving! My sweet companion was paprazzi for me, so I will send some pictures! I even have some video clips. I find them pretty funny because a lot of them end with me making mistakes haha.

I don’t want to spend my whole email taking about the recording, it was just really fun and an out of the ordinary experience!

We also traveled to Eger this week, as a city, to attend a District Meeting (since our districts includes both the cities of Miskolc and Eger). The meeting was wonderful. Our district leader held the meeting, and the way he ran it made everyone feel comfortable and uplifted. We started by singing a hymn together, followed by an opening prayer. Then we had a spiritual thought, a language tip, and some time to share some positive experiences so far from the transfer. Then we made some goals for the transfer and had training from the district leader (who looks like Brad Pitt by the way). We finished the meeting with another hymn and prayer. Not until writing this down did I realize how out of the ordinary such a meeting is. 8 young people, most barely 20 years of age, holding a self-governed meeting together with goals of spiritual nature. It sounds much more odd than it feels. It feels unforced, and natural, and positive. I loved it.

We also had some great experiences staying in our city :) Sister Hudspeth and I had many uplifting meetings this week. We met with families, individuals, young people, and those aging, and every meeting has its own flow and feel. Some meetings require more patience, some are so touching, some are hard on my brain (Hungarian-wise), but all are valuable experiences. Both we as missionaries, and the people we meet with are uplifted and blessed by the time we spend together discussing the gospel of Jesus Christ, what it means, the blessing we can receive from it, and what we need to do to receive those blessings. I love teaching people about it because it helps me understand it better too. I learn every time someone else learns. Every time I explain it in a new way, the Spirit helps me better understand it myself. What a blessing to do this every day!

Also! General Conference will be this week!! Every 6 months we get to hear from the living prophet and the 12 apostles of our day, and this weekend is one of those times! They will be showing the broadcasts here in Miskolc so I am glad we will not have to travel to see it. We will also be having a baptism here this Saturday afternoon! What a wonderful upcoming weekend! I really look forward to it. And I hope I make the days leading up to it meaningful as well.

I send my love!!!

– Surányi nővér

