Week #53

Hello Everyone!

I have officially been gone for a year! October 19th was my year mark since leaving home for the MTC (Missionary Training Center). The next marker point will be in December when I can celebrate being in Hungary for one year! Happy year mark to me!

It was also my mommy and baby brothers’ birthday this week! Happy Birthday to them!

We also had a super awesome Halloween party this week! Happy Halloween to us!

AAAND this morning was TRANSFER CALLS!!! Happy transfers to us!!! (I hope you have been singing the happy birthday song in your head with the end of every line, because I have!)

I will start by expounding on transfers. I have the exciting opportunity to serve with a mini missionary! A “mini” is a Hungarian who desires to serve a short mission – usually one transfer which is 6 weeks – who does not go to the MTC but gets set apart as a missionary by the mission president. Another part which is exciting is that I won’t know who she is until the “sorting hat meeting” on Wednesday at transfers in Budapest. I may already know her, or she may be someone I haven’t met. I don’t know! Exciting! There are no new Sister Missionaries coming in this transfer, but there will be some new Elders, so I wont be all alone in the training. The mission president joked that he will make sure there are several Hungarian girls there so that I wont know which one is my companion. Haha.

Let me also tell you about the Halloween Party. We four missionaries planned and prepared and threw the party. It turned out really well! Everyone who came was positive and willing to have a good time. We played a bunch of little games and also had food and sweets and other activities. I will send some pictures! There is one game involving a candy on a pile of flour and the loser has to eat the candy off the flower without using hands… let me just say… it tastes awful. I had seen people do it before, so I was unafraid to try it as I lost one round. Boy was I surprised at how gross it tastes! I am glad I did it though. My opposite expectations made it all the more funny to me. We four missionaries dressed up, and a few others did too. I dressed as a baby, and really enjoyed it. There are a couple members who joked about it on Sunday still – saying “boy you sure grew up fast'” and such. They are cute.

We four were invited over for lunch by one of the members after church on Sunday. Hungarian food is seriously SO delicious. I really hope I sufficiently learn to cook their foods so I can make it at home. As a side note-Hungarian sandwiches are really funny. I generally like them, but they are so different from our own.

Sister Hudspeth and I were also blessed with some uplifting spiritual experiences this week. We had some really great meetings with investigators and at times really felt that the Spirit was leading our words. It feels so wonderful whenever you can feel that you truly are doing the Lord’s work and in His way. I am also always so uplifted when investigators tell me of Spiritual experiences they have on their own. I feel so happy to know that they are learning to feel uplifted without us being there. I never want them to rely on me – especially because I am not strong enough to be relied on – but rather have them learn to rely on our Heavenly Father. I am so grateful to get to watch people become happier as they progress spiritually.

I myself always desire to continue to progress spiritually. It is easy to push that aside and focus purely on the here and now and on the physical ramifications of actions etc. But it is so much more fulfilling to gain spiritual witness of hopeful and beautiful truths. How much easier it is to fulfill physical and temporal duties and growth when I know what awaits me after this life if I do them well. How much less fear is within me because of what I have learned and because of my testimony of the Saviour Jesus Christ. I feel hope!

Hungarian is still as hard as ever, and I hope to get a lot better at it before I go home.

I hope you are all doing well at home and that you can maintain feelings of hope and happiness even through the difficult trials that come with this earthly life. I am trying to do the same :)

Sok szeretettel,

Surányi nővér

