Week #57

Hellósztok!

This week feels like it has been three! Here come a few highlights from it.

We had mission conferences this week. On Wednesday my zone and the Budapest zone met together in Budapest to be taught and instructed by our mission leaders and also by a visiting authority Elder Richards of the second quorum of the seventy. He is incredible! I had the opportunity to be the only Sister in a morning leadership meeting and right away I could tell he is a wonderful man. He taught so lovingly and boldly and really got us to think and feel things. He inspired conversation and helped us learn together. Later in the general meeting it was the same. He spoke on many subjects, including obedience, teaching, prayer and so on. I felt wonderful feelings and know that all he spoke was truth. It was so fantastic and powerful to be there and participate and learn under his direction. Later in the day, I had the opportunity to be interviewed by him personally. He is so kind and intelligent and I felt so safe and comfortable in his presence. I am grateful he came here to serve us. At one point in the interview he asked me what I plan to change in response to what I felt and learned during the day’s meetings. I am grateful he asked me and I have written some goals and specific things I want to do and improve. When the Lord blesses us with wonderful experiences and learning, it is up to us whether it will just become a nice memory, or whether we will act on it and change and improve because of it.

This week I have also been reading a little bit through some of my mission journals. I feel that the words I read came from a better person than I was back home. While reading this week, I experienced some feelings of shame or sadness concerning who I was before, and how differently I understood things. I am so grateful for the Atonement of Jesus Christ, through which I can erase the feelings of guilt and come to a better understanding and become more Christlike. I am grateful to notice some degree of progression within myself, and I hope it continues!!

This week we and the Elders were invited to a lady’s home and she treated us like royalty! She fed us delicious food and was such a joy to speak with and be around. We gave her a copy of the Book of Mormon and had the opportunity to look through it a little bit together and even show her how to use it to find answers to questions! It was exciting to see her already interested in learning more about it. I know how much the Book of Mormon blesses my life, and I feel so happy when someone else is willing to look into it. The Book of Mormon is meant to bless every child of our Heavenly Father. He had the prophets write for us! He wants us to be happy and has given us scriptures so we can know how to attain that happiness. I love it! It really works. There isn’t a better way. God created us and knows us each individually, so He knows what really will make us happy.

Some people see it as weakness to rely on some “invisible” God and to live according to laws and commandment. I know from personal experience that it is strength to accept the will of God above our own. I also know He is willing to confirm our faith. He is willing to show us that He really does exist and care about us and know us. He is willing to give us all understanding and all happiness, we just need to do our part. I am so grateful to be here in Hungary and to help people, who desire to know, what it means to do their part. Only blessings come from it – eternal blessings.

Hungary also brings the blessing of deeeliccious chocolate into my life. I am going to miss Hungarian food in general.

So much happens here and there is so little time to write about it!

Which reminds me – I got so much wonderful mail this week! Thank you all so much for writing me!!! It makes me feel loved :)

I love Hungary, but also miss home. I look forward to seeing many of you again. The end still feels far away, but I know it will come all to quickly.

With bushels of Hungarian love,

Surányi nővér

