Week #67

Hello everyone!

This week we are emailing hyperspeed! We were in Budapest today (we arrived last night) so that the new missionaries could go and get their Visas. SO LISTEN TO THIS: I got to spend the day with Sister Roney!!! She is also training a new missionary. So while our companions were in trainings and dealing with visas, Sister Roney and I got to be companions again!!

We spent our free time going out to meet with some investigators that we used to meet with when we served together in Pest. IT WAS SO GREAT! We took the buses to and fro, taking all our old routes, and reminiscing along the way. It was wonderful. We got to meet with 6 people that we used to meet with and it was so uplifting. We only had a short time with each of them, but they were so happy to see us and we were so happy to see them. A few of them are preparing for baptism and it was so lovely to show them our love and support in person one more time. Ah it was so great! One lady kept saying that we have gotten so beautiful and that we were glowing and radiating. It was so touching. We love her! It is hard to leave the people you love and move to a new city, but I know the Lord sends His missionaries to where He knows the most good can be done (both for the missionary and for others). The Lord is very involved in our lives, and being on a mission helps me see that so much more clearly.

I wish I had time to describe all the great experiences I am having. There are of course also experiences that are more difficult and uncomfortable, but those make the good experiences even more precious.

I translated again in church this week (just silently for our new seniour missionary couple who have officially moved in) and this week it was more of a discouraging experience. I was more highly aware of all of my shortcomings in the language both in communicating and understanding. But I did not give up! I know that the Lord wants me to look at the positive and to always try harder and to be grateful for what I can do. I was fasting at the time, which I had hoped would give me a more spiritually uplifting experience, but I have come to feel that the struggle is much more valuable than if it had been blissful. Ah the things I learn. I love when I feel something is so true even when it is counter-intuitive – ex. being grateful for struggles – because then I feel that I really am growing a testimony and not just relying on my carnal mind. I like it! I am looking forward for the next not commonly accepted truth! hah. :P just being silly.

Jaj. I really should stop writing but I wish I could say so much more!

Um ok quick list:

– We went to Kecskemét this past week for district meeting. I love singing hymns with my district. 4 part harmony in the strongest way!

– We visited a member family this week and they (over)fed us the most DELICIOUS Hungarian food. It is so wonderful to be fed by the members here especially because almost always they do not have very much money. They give of what little they have to serve us. I am so grateful!

– I only had one person in my English class this week , which was great because it is WAY less scary to do a personal tutoring session than a big lesson. But… we put a thing in the paper and it seems like a lot more people will be coming this week. I’m scared. I don’t know how to teach beginner English. Le sigh du jour. I will do my best.

– we made cutouts of the Plan of Salvation this week. SO GREAT. And we even got to use them twice already. Yay for visuals! Not just for kids. :)

OOOKIE I have like a quadrillion more thoughts… but no time.

I love my mission. I love Hungary. I will never forget being here. It has changed me so permanently. Well, I have decided to make it permanent. No regression I say! I say!

Szeretlek titeket!

– Surányi nővér

