Week #68

Happy Family Day Everyone!

According to my father this is a real thing – a new holiday in BC. I am all for it!

OK so for some weird reason, even though I know in my mind that I am coming home soon, I cannot feel it at all. Not a bit. I feel like I will still be here for ever. Maybe it will hit me at the airport on my way home, or on my last night spent in the mission home. I’m sure it will sink in some time.

Since my brain knows I am leaving, I have been trying to get some souvenirs. Today Sister Burdick and I are on the hunt for something called a doromb. It is some kind of instrument. Possibly something that might be called a mouth harp? We do not know what it looks like and I have one faint memory of what it sounds like. We have very limited information and cannot use Google… BUT we have a strong desire to find and purchase such an instrument. Logical? no. Wonderful? I sure hope so!

Let’s see let’s see. Ah, yes. Library cards. We got library cards this week! This is mostly interesting because… it was by accident. So. We hopped into the library to try to run a quick errand… well there is still a lot of Hungarian that I do not understand. By the time I figured out I had us signing up for library cards we were about half way done and so we just went with it. They were free which was nice. Ah funny.

It has been snowing again this week, but luckily it isn’t too too cold. Oh, we met a guy from Calgary on the bus! He moved there in 1957 and is here visiting Hungary. He heard my companion and I SYL-ing (speaking Hungarian) and he tried to help us out. It was cute! When he butted in, we could tell he was waiting for an opportunity to say something. My companion asked me in Hungarian what a certain word meant, and he quickly responded in English. It was so cute. He said he had never met missionaries from our church before and I told him I was honoured to be one of the first. Oh public transportation.

Another funny thing happened on a bus this week when an older lady went to sit down but didn’t realize she had to fold down her chair first. She flailed and grabbed her friend beside her. I tried to do a concerned face (we were sitting across from her) but when she started laughing and explaining herself then I felt it was appropriate for me to laugh a little. I was glad not to have to hold it in. I tried to do an understanding laugh. :)

We went to Szeged this past week for a Zone Training. It was nice to be back there. I served there this time last year. It was beautiful nostalgia. I had lots of memories of being there with MY trainer, and now I was there AS a trainer. WEIRD. We even went to a pékség that I used to go to with my trainer all the time. (Kerek Perec! And I really wished I could have stopped in to A Capella too!) Le sigh. Time just keeps ticking on!

I was reading out of the most recent general conference Ensign this morning and just loving every word. We got to watch one of my favourite talks this past week with Hungarian translation and it was so powerful. I really love general conference. It is so funny because I remember how boring I thought it was as a child. Well I guess I have grown up a bit since then! One of the talks I read this morning was Elder Nelson’s talk with the repeated line “ask the missionaries; they can help”. That talk makes me feel so humbled every time I hear it or think of it. It reminds me that I am here to do a great work, and that I am here to serve and help, just like the apostle said. It also makes me feel that I better be worthy and willing to help anyone in any way and that I really need divine assistance to be able to do what I have been called to do.

Seriously, being on a mission makes me feel so incapable in so many ways. But in a good way! In the kind of way that drives me to my knees in prayer and inspires hard work and improvement. I can honestly say that it is better to feel that I need the Lord’s help than to feel like I can do it all fine enough on my own. This mission is a blessing in every way! There isn’t a part I can think of that isn’t designed by the Lord to bless my life in some way if I let it. Incredible.

The snow got bad enough that even though we dubbed ourselves “extreme runners” we only got out running once this week before the snow got worse. Well, I hope it clears up so we can run some more. But only kinda…haha.

There is a new family that we are meeting with and there are two ADORABLE children. I just LOVE seeing them. OK well I have only met the kids once… but I cant wait to see them again. They are SO cute. The girl is 3 and the boy is 5 (or something along those lines) and they both have the most adorable little kid speech difficulties. The boy has SO much energy and just wanted to show us everything! He put on this CD and then was dancing and running around. It killed me it was so adorable. At one point he just kind-of zoned out and sat in front of the CD player and was sweetly singing along to the song into this little attached microphone. Le sigh. Kids are crazy and adorable. Every other minute they would be crying and then get over it and then cry again and then get over it. All I could do was laugh. I haven’t seen children in a while, I think that’s why it was extra great.

Oooookie. Off to find a crazy mouth instrument if I’m lucky!

much love,

Surányi nővér

